About MSP


The Mathematical Society of the Philippines is the Philippines' premiere professional organization dedicated to the promotion of mathematics research and education in the country.  Founded in 1973, it has grown from a small Manila-based group of math educators to a nation-wide network of individuals, with chapters in the three island groups of Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.  The MSP has represented the country in the International Mathematical Union since 1978.

The MSP is governed by a National Board of Directors elected by the general membership.  The Society has regional chapters throughout the country.  The MSP conducts the annual Philippine Mathematical Olympiad and trains the Philippine Team to the International Mathematical Olympiad with the support of the Department of Science and Technology and other sponsors.  Since 1978, the MSP represents the country as the Philippines’ Technical Committee for Mathematics in the International Mathematical Union.


The members of the current National Board of Directors are:


President:  Marian P. Roque
Vice President:  Emmanuel E. Cabral
Secretary:  Isagani B. Jos
Treasurer:  Richard S. Lemence


Lorna S. Almocera
Roberto B. Corcino
Jose Ernie C. Lope (Editor-in-Chief, Matimyas Matematika)
Fidel R. Nemenzo
Jumela F. Sarmiento